AFCA To Televise American Football Coaches Awards On CBS Sports Network

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) will air the American Football Coaches Awards – featuring the AFCA National Coach of the Year – live on CBS Sports Network on January 10, 2017, at 9 p.m. EST – one day after the national championship game.

This marks the first time the AFCA will televise its annual awards, which are voted on by AFCA member coaches.

The one-hour program will air from the Grand Ole Opry House in Nashville, Tenn., and coincide with the AFCA’s annual convention. Coaches from all 128 FBS college football programs are scheduled to appear to help celebrate some of the greatest accomplishments from the 2016-17 college football season.

“The American Football Coaches Awards offers a great platform to showcase the success of all AFCA member coaches, while also recognizing a few who have had exceptional performances with their teams this year,” said AFCA executive director Todd Berry. “We also have a special 30th anniversary presentation of the AFCA Coaches’ Trophy, which will be presented to the No. 1 team in the Amway Coaches Poll.”

The iconic Waterford® Crystal football, affectionately referred to as the Crystal Ball, has been awarded to the Amway Coaches’ Poll national champion since its inception in 1986. Additionally, the AFCA has made the Crystal Ball available to all AFCA Coaches Poll winners since 1950.

In addition to presenting the AFCA Coaches’ Trophy, the show will feature several other prominent and prestigious awards including the Amos Alonzo Stagg Award, FBS Regional Coaches of the Year, FCS National Coach of the Year, Play Call of the Year, Comeback Coach of the Year and the FBS National Coach of the Year.

More details about the American Football Coaches Awards, including the emcee, will be forthcoming. Until then, please follow @WeAreAFCA or visit for more information. Check for local listings at

Comments 1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *